top of page

Autumn - Spring:

Tues - Sat: 10am - 4pm

Sun - Mon: Closed


Mon - Fri: 9am - 5pm
Sat: 10am - 4pm

Sun: Closed


Getting to Know Us

Built in 1846, St. Michael's Museum and Genealogical Centre has a very special link to the Irish Potato Famine of 1847 and Middle Island Irish Historical Park in Miramichi. It was from this building, then St. Michael's Rectory, that Rev John Sweeney set out to minister to the sick and dying Irish immigrants who arrived in Miramichi aboard the Looshtauk, the Bolivar and the Richard White.


In the years following, the building became the first episcopal residence (1860), the first St. Michael's College, the first convent and the first Hotel-Dieu Hospital in Chatham. In addition, it served as Saint Joseph's Preparatory School from 1913 to 1931 and became the Bishop Rogers Museum in 1969 to mark the centennial of the arrival of the Religious Hospitallers of St. Joseph.


Step back in time with a tour of the Museum Genealogical Centre, the Lady Chapel Museum and the Basilica.

bottom of page